Hollendorfer On Hall of Fame Ballot

Hollendorfer On Hall of Fame Ballot

     Jerry Hollendorfer, the Bay Area’s all-time leading trainer and the fourth-winningest trainer in thoroughbred racing history with 5,911 victories, is among the first-time finalists for election to the National Museum of Racing’s Hall of Fame.  

     The Hall of Fame, located in Saratoga Springs, N.Y., released the 2011 ballot Wednesday and the other first-time finalists are jockeys Calvin Borel, Garrett Gomez and John Velazquez.  Other finalists are jockey Alex Solis, trainers Gary Jones and Robert Wheeler, and the female horses Open Mind, Safely Kept, and Sky Beauty.

     Of the 10 finalists, the four receiving the most votes from the Hall’s voters will be enshrined.  The finalists were selected by a 16-member nominating committee, which was restricted to no more than 10 finalists from the 80 horses, trainers, and jockeys submitted for consideration.  

     Hollendorfer has been the dominant trainer in Northern California since the mid-1980s.  He won the training championship at every major Bay Area meeting from 1986 through 2008, recording 37 straight titles at Bay Meadows and 32 consecutive crowns at Golden Gate Fields.   

     Hollendorfer won five Grade 1 races in 2010: the Kentucky Oaks, Alabama and Las Virgenes with the champion 3-year-old filly Blind Luck; the Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile with Dakota Phone; and the Gamely with Tuscan Evening.  Hollendorfer ranked fourth in the nation in earnings in 2010 with $9,307,328 and third in wins with 286.

      Hollendorfer was fifth in earnings in 2009 ($7,309,169) and seventh in 2008 ($8,637,578).  He was also third in wins in both 2009 (273) and 2008 (282), and won a career-high 308 races in 2004 to finish third in the national trainer standings.  Hollendorfer has been in the top 10 in wins for 24 consecutive years (1987 through 2010) and has been in the top 10 in earnings 12 times.  

    Hollendorfer ranks eighth on the all-time earnings list for trainers with stable earnings of $120,424,403.

    The Hall of Fame will announce its selections on Friday, May 13.