Hollendorfer, Baze Ranked Among Nation’s Leaders In Victories In 2011

Hollendorfer, Baze Ranked Among Nation’s Leaders In Victories In 2011

     Northern California’s leading men in horse racing, trainer Jerry Hollendorfer and jockey Russell Baze, ranked among the nation’s leaders in races won in 2011.

     Hollendorfer saddled 251 winners to finish fourth in the nation in victories behind Steve Asmussen (348), Jamie Ness (330), and Todd Pletcher (254).  Hollendorfer’s horses earned $7,866,623, a total that placed him sixth in purse money won behind Pletcher ($17,186,956), Asmussen ($16,287,685), Bob Baffert ($14,104,834), William Mott ($10,731,249), and Graham Motion ($8,818,283).

     Hollendorfer’s earnings total was the third-highest of his career behind the $9,307,328 his stable banked in 2010 and the $8,637,578 it earned in 2008.

      Baze won 295 races and finished fourth in the national jockey standings in victories behind Deshawn Parker (400), Ramon Dominguez (348), and Leandro Goncalves (298).  Baze’s mounts made $5,049,717, a total that ranked him 40th in the nation in earnings.

     Other Northern California-based horsemen to finish in the top 100 in the national standings were: trainer Steve Sherman (12th in wins with 151 and 100th in earnings with $1,813,075), trainer Jeff Bonde (49th in earnings with $2,708,066), trainer Frank Lucarelli (34th in wins with 102), trainer William E. Morey (tied for 63rd in wins with 86), trainer Steve Miyadi (tied for 88th in wins with 76), jockey Leslie Mawing (tied for 30th in wins with 185), jockey Aaron Gryder (38th in wins with 168), jockey Kevin Krigger (tied for 41st in wins with 165 and 96th in earnings with $2,894,874), and jockey Frank Alvarado (tied for 65th in wins with 143 and 99th in earnings with $2,815,539).

     Bonde and Lucarelli ($1,558,146) both achieved career highs in earnings in 2011.  Lucarelli and Gryder both posted career highs in victories.  
     Special Monday Racing  --  Golden Gate Fields will wrap up a week of holiday racing with a nine-race program Monday.  Post time is 12:45 p.m.